Microsoft is moving closer to re-releasing the Windows 10 October 2018 Update after pausing the roll out earlier this week. The company has now moved the patched build to Slow and Release rings of the Windows Insider Program.

As you may know, the Release Ring is the last developmental stage before a full roll out. This means we can expect to see Windows 10 October 2018 Update roll out next week. Microsoft says update build 17763.104 comes with cumulative update KB4464455.

This update solves several fixes, including for the Manual Update problem that forced Microsoft to pull the Windows 10 October 2018 Update. The update also fixes a Task Manager issue that was revealed earlier this month.

Advertisement

Here are all the fixes:

  • Microsoft fixed the issue where the incorrect details were being shown in Task Manager under the “Processes” tab.
  • Fixed an issue where in certain cases IME would not work in the first process of a Microsoft Edge user session.
  • Microsoft fixed an issue where in some cases applications would become unresponsive after resuming from Connected Standby.
  • Fixed several issues causing application compatibility problems with 3rd-party antivirus and virtualization products.
  • Microsoft fixed several issues with driver compatibility.

Deleted User Files

The Windows 10 October 2018 Update was launched at Microsoft’s Surface event on October 3. However, users who adopted the update early through a manual download started reporting a major problem.

Windows 10 version 1809 was deleting personal files such as documents and images, so Microsoft paused the release. Last week, the company explained what caused the flaw:

The problem was caused by a change made to the Known Folder Redirection (KFR) file. This lets users redirect known folders.

In the April 2018 Update, KFR started creating empty folders on PCs, so Microsoft prevented this in the October 2018 Update.

“That change, combined with another change to the update construction sequence, resulted in the deletion of the original “old” folder locations and their content, leaving only the new “active” folder intact,” Microsoft explains.

Advertisement