Microsoft-365-Personal-Family-Screens-showing-Office-Apps-From-Microsoft

Microsoft has taken to its support page to make an interesting feature announcement for Microsoft 365 Family and Microsoft 365 Personal services. Specifically, both subscription services now store data from apps in their OneDrive storage.

According to Microsoft, this feature will come into effect on February 1, 2023. It means all app contents on Microsoft 365 Family and Personal will count towards your OneDrive storage limit. That means personal files, Teams message attachments (including recordings), Outlook attachments, and more.

While the limit of the Outlook account will not change, all the content (inboxes) you have on Outlook.com will count towards your OneDrive storage.

Essentially, Microsoft is saying it will no longer take care of storing these elements and you have to use your own storage limit to do it. What the company officially says is the following:

“Starting February 1, 2023, cloud storage used across Microsoft 365 apps and services will include Outlook.com attachments data and OneDrive data. All data will continue to be protected with Microsoft’s comprehensive set of security features.”

Additional Storage

To make up for this decision, Microsoft 365 Family and Personal customers will receive an additional 50GB in OneDrive storage. This will be on top of the 1 TB storage that currently comes with the subscription. Although, this additional allocation will not come into effect until Feb. 1, 2023.

Also in the same document, Microsoft explains that it is removing the ability for Microsoft 365 Personal/Family users to create a personalised email address. This is an Outlook premium feature that allows users to remove the @outlook.com from the email address. Microsoft says from Nov. 30, 2023 the feature will no longer be available at this price point.

Tip of the day: After years of hefting a laptop around, you inevitably build up a menagerie of Wi-Fi networks. For the most part, they’ll sit on your PC, hardly used, but at times a change in configuration can make it difficult to connect to a network your computer already remembers. At this point, it can be beneficial to make Windows forget a Wi-Fi network and delete its network profile.