HomeWinBuzzer NewsTwitter Gains Global "Unmentioning" Feature

Twitter Gains Global “Unmentioning” Feature

Twitter is rolling out its unmentioning feature, which allows users to remove themselves from threads or conversations.

-

has been rolling out a bunch of interesting new features recently, making significant changes to the micro-blogging platform. The latest edition is a new “unmentioning” ability that is graduating from preview to global availability for all users.

Our first glimpse of the unmentioning feature came in February when leaker Jane Manchun Wong found brought it online. Twitter followed up on that leak in April with confirmation of the tool, calling it unmentioning and saying it offers “a way to help you protect your peace and remove yourself from conversations.”

For people who use Twitter a lot and have multiple threads/conversations running at the same time, unmentioning could be a useful tool. If any conversation becomes too much for whatever reason, you can remove yourself from the thread.

Users go to a conversation, click the three-dot “More” button in the tweet box and select the “Leave this conversation” option. Once you select this option, your Twitter handle will be removed (untagged) from the thread/conversation.

This means you will no longer receive update notifications about that conversations. It will also prevent any other person in the thread from mentioning you.

Twitter says unmentioning is now available automatically on the web, while and iOS users can get the feature through an update.

Recent Twitter Updates

Twitter recently announced it will give authors the power to review/edit controversial/offensive language from replies. Furthermore, the company is working on introducing long-form articles for users.

Known as Twitter Notes, the feature will bring arguably the biggest change to the platform in years. After all, Twitter is a micro-blogging network famous for its short form posting. In fact, it is what separates the company from any other information platform.

Tip of the day: To prevent attackers from capturing your password, Secure Sign-in asks the user to perform a physical action that activates the sign-in screen. In some cases, this is a dedicated “Windows Security” button, but the most common case in Windows is the Ctrl+Alt Del hotkey. In our tutorial, we show you how to activate this feature.

SourceTwitter
Luke Jones
Luke Jones
Luke has been writing about all things tech for more than five years. He is following Microsoft closely to bring you the latest news about Windows, Office, Azure, Skype, HoloLens and all the rest of their products.

Recent News

Mastodon