WhatsApp users have been looking forward to using a disappearing message feature the company has reportedly been working on. However, it now seems the new ability will be limited to a specific type of message on the platform.

The disappearing message feature will allow users to set a timer on WhatsApp to decide how long a message remains visible in the chat. Once the time elapses the message is deleted.

A new report has confirmed the feature is in development but with a caveat. Specifically, it will be limited to group chats on WhatsApp. In other words, users in one-to-one chats will not be able to use the disappearing message tool.

WABetaInfo discovered the feature on the latest iOS beta version. The Facebook-owned company lists the feature as a cleaning tool for messages. Furthermore, it seems the feature will be called “delete messages” and not the previously believed “disappearing messages”.

Either way, the tool will be placed in the options of the Group Settings tab. Group administrators can choose a time between one hour and one year to keep the message active before deletion. However, there will be an option to turn off the tool entirely.

Windows Closure

While the tool will be coming to WhatsApp soon, users of Windows 10 Mobile will not be getting it.

WhatsApp on Microsoft’s defunct platform is shuttering this month (tomorrow). This has been inevitable as the company has not been supporting the app for some time. That means WhatsApp on Windows Phone has not been receiving updates and is not visible in the Microsoft Store. However, users with the app already installed have been able to continue using it.