The era of cloud gaming is upon us. Microsoft is publicly testing its Project xCloud but Google seems to be moving a step ahead. In an announcement, the company has confirmed its Google Stadia cloud gaming platform will launch on November 19.

At its Made by Google 2019 event today, Mountain View says Stadia will be available at 9AM PST/5PM BST/6PM CET on November 19. This initial launch will be for those who have purchased the Founder Edition of the service.

Google Stadia Pro will also be available, a subscription that gives players free games in 4K resolution at 60fps. To get this kind of performance, users will need to have an internet connection of 35Mbps of more.

Google says Stadia will initially be limited to its Pixel smartphones. However, it will eventually also work on computers, web browser, and TV.

As mentioned, Microsoft’s Project xCloud is currently in public testing in select regions. Redmond’s cloud gaming solution allows users to play Xbox titles across form factors and platforms. Users require a download speed of at least 10 Mbps on a 5GHz Wi-fi or data connection. they also need an Xbox Wireless Controller, and Android 6.0 or greater.

Both Microsoft and Google are now seemingly directly competing against each other. However, as the two leaders in the cloud gaming arena, it is possible both Stadia and xCloud can enjoy success considering the differences between the services.

Google Stadia

Announced in March, Stadia is Google’s first significant foray into gaming. Stadia will be available on PCs, laptops, phones, tablets, and TVs regardless of hardware. As expected, the service will support 1080p at 60fps per second, and up to 4K and 60fps. Google claims that Stadia’s users will be able to go from watching a YouTube video of a game to playing it in just five seconds.