Current Xbox One Elite controller

Microsoft yesterday detailed its plans for the upcoming Gamescom event and the company teased some new Xbox related hardware. Xbox’s Larry “Major Nelson” Hryb revealed “all-new Xbox hardware and accessories”.

Of course, that hint leads to all kinds of speculation around new consoles and so on, but the reality is a little more grounded.

Firstly, the Xbox One X launched just last year, and the new Xbox generation is expected in 2020. In other words, this is just not the right time for a new console to be revealed. Microsoft sent out a separate Xbox Wire post clearing up the speculation. The company points to “new Xbox One bundles and accessories”.

So, no console hardware then, but we can expect new accessories. The most obvious candidate for a Gamescom launch is a new Xbox One Elite controller.

The Xbox One Elite controller was released in 2015 and is a seismic leap forward compared to the original Xbox One gamepad. It is truly a stunning piece of hardware, although for a whopping $150 it really should be.

Think of the Xbox One Elite as a controller for the Xbox aficionado who can display their gamepad as if it is an ornament. It is also hugely functional, but now three years old it needs an upgrade.

Updating Elite

For most other controllers, Microsoft would just launch them sporadically and not during a major event. Think of the special edition Sport White version the company announced this month and you’ll get the point.

In terms of the Xbox One Elite, it is worthier of an event launch and Gamescom is a good venue. We reported in January on Microsoft’s development of a version 2, complete with some enticing new features. Chief among them is an analog stick with customizable tension.

Gamescom gets underway in August, with Microsoft’s event happening on August 21 at 7:30 a.m. PT (10:30 a.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. CEST).