microsoft azure official

Microsoft has announced a new partnership with MapR that will see the companies collaborate on a series of webinars. The first will seek to provide Azure customers with more insight into big data application development on the cloud platform.

Imaginatively titled ‘Develop big data applications with MapR on Microsoft Azure’ the webinar will be held on April 13. Microsoft says the cast will discuss deeper aspects of requirements and integrations for developers. Dev’s creating enterprise grade applications will be able to better understand the process.

The focus of the webcast will be to show how developers can integrate MapR’s Converged Data Platform on Azure.

Advertisement

MapR is a software company that specializes in enterprise scale solutions. The Californian company provides software such as Apache Hadoop distribution, a distributed file system, and database management system.

The Converged Data Platform “integrates Hadoop, Spark, and Apache Drill with real-time database capabilities, global event streaming, and scalable enterprise storage to power a new generation of big data applications.”

In the live discussion, Microsoft and MapR will show the following advantages to using the platform in Azure:

  • Design and deliver enterprise grade, production big data applications in the cloud
  • Support hybrid environments and easily keep cloud and on-premises environments in sync
  • Quickly and easily deploy a cloud-based converged big data platform
  • Microsoft R Server on MapR
  • Query MapR data using PolyBase (from SQL Server and Azure SQL-DW)

Webinar Details

The webcast will be presented at It starts of at 2PM AEDT/ 11AM SGT/10AM WIB, which is 12 AM EDT on April 13, and 9 PM PDT on April 12. You can register for it here and at the source.

Microsoft says the webinar is the first in a series of five that will be produced with MapR. Next Thursday’s event will be presented by Asit Parija, Solution Architect at MapR Technologies, and Ben Sadeghi, Big Data & Advanced Analytics Specialist for Microsoft SE Asia & Korea.

Advertisement