IMAGE How to disable user account control

User Account Control (UAC) is that little window that always pops up when you want to install a program or change a system setting. I will show you how to make it less annoying or turn it off completely.

What is User Account Control (UAC)?

What User Account Control (UAC) does is to ask you for a manual confirmation before Windows changes some setting or an app tries to make changes to your system.

In this video below I show you all the different options of User Account Control with example cases.

 

How to disable User Account Control (UAC) in Windows 10

To change that behavior, I have to open Change User Account Control settings which can be found quickly with a search. It´s just a little window with a slider and four options.

How to disable User Account Control (UAC) in Windows 10 settings2

 

 

Option 1 from the top:

If you choose the highest level, Windows 10 User Account Control will show a warning and dim your screen when an app or you try to change system settings.

How to disable User Account Control (UAC) in Windows 10 (7)

 

Option 2 from the top:

If you choose the second highest level, User Account Control will show a warning and dim your screen only when an app tries to change system settings.

How to disable User Account Control (UAC) in Windows 10 (5)

 

Option 3 from the top:

If you choose the second highest level, User Account Control will show the warning popup but with the desktop will not get dimmed.

How to disable User Account Control (UAC) in Windows 10 (6)

 

Option 4 from the top – Disable User Account Control (UAC)

With that setting you turn off User Account Control completely. I personally don´t recommend to do that, as it is also great security layer against malware which tries to change stuff. On my computer I choose just the lowest level without a dim.

How to disable User Account Control (UAC) in Windows 10 (1)

Potential risks when User Account Control is turned off

With User Account Control turned off you might not notice when malware is changing system settings on your PC. The good thing about User Account Control is that you get warned in such cases. If that window pops up without any prior action from your side, chances are high that this is an unwanted action from another software.

In that case you should have a close look at the mentioned program o process. If you don´t know the program mentioned by User Account Control, trace it down with a Google search.