snapchat official

Snapchat, after updating its “Terms of Service and Privacy Policy”, is now reassuring users that the level of privacy on the photo sharing application is exactly the same as it was before. The company has clarified that they could not and do not stockpile private snaps or chats for any reason.

The root cause of this problem is the language used by the company in its updated “Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.” The policy says Snapchat can “Reproduce” your content in “any and all media”, and has raised many concerns about the privacy of personals snaps and chats on the photo messaging application.

snapchat official

The company has also updated the section relating to in-app purchases following the roll out of $0.99 snap replays. They made names visible for friends to find you, but according to the blog post, all of that can tweaked through different ways.

The language used in the policy is quite confusing, but as per Snapchat, these changes were made for better understanding, so that it would “read the way people actually talk.”

Company’s Statement to Reassure Users:

“We want to be crystal clear: The Snaps and Chats you send your friends remain as private today as they were before the update. Our Privacy Policy continues to say—as it did before—that those messages “are automatically deleted from our servers once we detect that they have been viewed or have expired.”

Of course, a recipient can always screenshot or save your Snaps or Chats. But the important point is thatSnapchat is not—and never has been—stockpiling your private Snaps or Chats. And because we continue to delete them from our servers as soon as they’re read, we could not—and do not—share them with advertisers or business partners.”

So now, considering this ironic privacy update, it’s all up to the users whether they feel like continuing with the service.

Source: Venturebeat